Info I’ve found on Low-starch diets

The first place I heard about this diet was on the KickAS.org website on this page …. http://www.kickas.org/londondiet.shtml   they refer to it as the “London “AS” Diet”.  The link to the page I first heard about it offers a basic overview of the diet including what needs to be reduced and what doesn’t.

One of the resources listed on the KickAS.org website was a cookbook called the “IBS Low-starch Diet”  from what I can tell it seems that in addition to IBS, the author also has Ankylosing Spondylitis (AS) and that in her quest to tame her IBS, she accidentally discovered that starch seemed to affect her pain and inflammation associated with her AS.

While looking around on Amazon.com for other books, I discovered the “Ankylosing Spondylitis Cookbook” which while I have yet to buy, is one that I’m considering buying it has a focus on a low starch-diet so the recipes in it could be good  starting points to give me ideas of other things I can eat.

Spondylitis.org offered information similar to KickAS.org on this page …. http://www.spondylitis.org/about/diet_lowstarch.aspx

More information about a low-starch diet I found on eHow.com ….. http://www.ehow.com/about_5453725_low-starch-diet-ankylosing-spondylitis.html

Also on KickAS.org, I found a basic list of foods that are good, bad and questionable on a low-starch diet …. http://www.kickas.org/asfood.shtml

In order to transition smoothly into this diet, I opted not to buy any bread or potatoes this month to get me started.  The money I didn’t spend on bread and potatoes, I used towards buying things like tuna fish, lean ground beef, and frozen fruit.  I’ve watched a few documentaries, one of which was called “King Corn” which was a documentary about … you guessed it … corn.  I know corn is a starch, so I thought learning about the ways corn is used in the food chain might be helpful.  After having watched “King Corn”  I am now wondering how brilliant my idea of buying lean ground beef was on staying away from starch …. I didn’t factor in that cows eat corn, so the chances are good that there is corn in the ground beef I bought.

Lucky for me this is a low-starch diet, and not a no starch diet, so I decided that whatever corn was in the beef was probably not going to be as bad as the potato starch I saw listed in the ingredients on my mayo jar, or the high-fructose corn syrup that seems to be added to almost everything.

Fresh produce seems to be a good starting point for avoiding starch (no potatoes or corn obviously)  And since the dry beans I love so much seem to be sources of starch also, I’m going to shy away from them as well.  Of course I don’t want to waste food by throwing it in the trash, so I’ve bagged up what I can’t eat and passing it along to people who are able to eat it.  My thinking is that if it isn’t in my cupboards I will be less likely to eat it.

I wasn’t sure how I would feel about eating chili without kidney beans, but it wasn’t bad …. I put 2 cans of diced tomatoes (Shurfine brand doesn’t have corn syrup in them and are pretty much tomatoes, water and seasoning for ingredients, so I was pleased to discover that) the recipe I follow for my chili calls for 1 can of diced tomatoes and 1 can of kidney beans, so I figured that adding a second can of tomatoes would help fill the void with regards to the beans I wasn’t including.  Aside from that I followed the rest of the recipe as it was written and it turned out really tasty.  As far as I know, aside from what the cows ate, there wasn’t any other starch in that batch of chili, so I was able to keep to my low-starch meal by eating it, but I’m pretty sure I want to eat something other than chili all the time so I’m exploring other options.  a cup of frozen blueberries with a teaspoon of sugar and a half cup of 2% milk is something I rediscovered, and am thinking it might be a good substitute for ice cream (I’m also trying to lose weight so looking at low-calorie options as well as low starch options in food)

So while I still feel like I have a lot to learn, the basic resources I listed above seem to have potential for being good starting points.  And yeah I got sidetracked, but chili is great this time of year and I’m pleased I found a way I can have it while still adhering to my low-starch diet.

 

Leave a Reply

